Ronda Ronda #4 (with smurfs)

A deep ravine near Ronda

A deep ravine near Ronda

Bit of a cliffhanger at the end of last post, so let me tell you:
All went well, they did swap out the front wheel bearings and it’s bee fine since. Ifni Motors in Salamanca, wholly recommended. I did still get to Toledo that day, but it was dark when I arrived and I had trouble finding the hotel.

Still dark the next morning and thunderstorms in the region when I made this photo from my balcony.

Still dark the next morning and thunderstorms in the region when I made this photo from my balcony.

Though with hail and deluges, the thunderstorms were regional and soon I was my road to Ronda on a sunny, bright day.

Had to lie down for a nap after that short night.

Had to lie down for a nap after that short night.

Then onwards, through olive orchards. Every silvered leave waving a greeting in the strong wind.

Then onwards, through olive orchards. Every silvered leave waving a greeting in the strong wind.

The roads were extremely wiggly in these agricultural regions, and a bit scary, too. That because of their unfinished shoulders, often with a drop of 30 cm from the tarmac. Don’t go there, don’t go there!

But then there were long stretches of wider roads like this one, leading into the rocky region around Ronda.

But then there were long stretches of wider roads like this one, leading into the rocky region around Ronda.

The gorge pictured in the lead photo lies among them. When I rode through it in the evening, I was so impressed, I’ll never forget it!

It has some dam walls built into it, but there was no water.

It has some dam walls built into it, but there was no water.

Later that evening, a first look upon Gibraltar, the mediterranean and Africa!

Later that evening, a first look upon Gibraltar, the mediterranean and Africa!

The village where I have my hotel room for three nights is on of those white villages that dot the region around Ronda.

The village where I have my hotel room for three nights is on of those white villages that dot the region around Ronda.

There's one village of a totally different color, as I found out on a ride the next day. It's the smurf village of Juzcar. Originally also white, it was painted blue for a Sony Pictures promotion stunt. Later, the inhabitants decided to leave it this way, they even added some smurf figures. Instant tourist attraction!

There’s one village of a totally different color, as I found out on a ride the next day. It’s the smurf village of Juzcar. Originally also white, it was painted blue for a Sony Pictures promotion stunt. Later, the inhabitants decided to leave it this way, they even added some smurf figures. Instant tourist attraction!

On through the Sierras, I was trying to get to the mediterranean sea. You have to take the bigger roads, as the smaller ones often ended dead in one of these villages. But the mountain roads had the better views!

On through the Sierras, I was trying to get to the mediterranean sea. You have to take the bigger roads, as the smaller ones often ended dead in one of these villages. But the mountain roads had the better views!

Eventually found the sea and gained access to it between all these luxury hotels and gated communities by a construction site where workers were remodeling the beach. They let me pass, perhaps because I was using heavy machinery, too. ;)

Eventually found the sea and gained access to it between all these luxury hotels and gated communities by a construction site where workers were remodeling the beach. They let me pass, perhaps because I was using heavy machinery, too. 😉

The bath cleaned me but not the bike, so at a Repsol service station, Marc Marquez looked on as I took care of the gear.

The bath cleaned me but not the bike, so at a Repsol service station, Marc Marquez looked on as I took care of the gear.

This entry was posted in BMW, curve, image, picture, rides, Ronda, Spain, tour, touring and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

