Ronda, Ronda #2

Pano shot of the Col du Serre and, at the right, the rise to the Col du Pas de Peyrol

Pano shot of the Col du Serre and, at the right, the rise to the Col du Pas de Peyrol

The first three days of my tour have been, beautiful, at times exhausting and there was a lot to experience and learn. So, here are a few photos and comments:

Colorful rest stop in the Spessart.

Colorful rest stop in the Spessart.

I did not go straight to Karlsruhe, but first paid a visit to the Touratech factory store in Niedereschach in the Black Forest. The produce lots of gear for funny-looking bikes.

I did not go straight to Karlsruhe, but first paid a visit to the Touratech factory store in Niedereschach in the Black Forest. The produce lots of gear for funny-looking bikes.

I got bags for the top of the hard cases. It's a bit like Monty Python's "Royal Society for putting things on top of other things", but I had no room to put away provisions for the road and the rain suit in case it didn't rain.

I got bags for the top of the hard cases. It’s a bit like Monty Python’s “Royal Society for putting things on top of other things”, but I had no room to put away provisions for the road and the rain suit in case it didn’t rain.

But rain it did when I got to Niedereschach.

But rain it did when I got to Niedereschach.

The next leg was Karlsruhe to Bourg-en-Bresse. I was up too early for this Rhine ferry.

The next leg was Karlsruhe to Bourg-en-Bresse. I was up too early for this Rhine ferry.

When I finally got to France, the BMW Navigator on the cow decided not to find it's french road maps. Ironically, it still showed terrain and speed cameras, but refused to navigate. So, I superglued the cover of one of the smartphones I had brought for just such a contingency to the cover of the BMW Navigator frame on the bike, fiddled a bit with 12V cables and Bluetooth and on we went.

When I finally got to France, the BMW Navigator on the cow decided not to find it’s french road maps. Ironically, it still showed terrain and speed cameras, but refused to navigate. So, I superglued the cover of one of the smartphones I had brought for just such a contingency to the cover of the BMW Navigator frame on the bike, fiddled a bit with 12V cables and Bluetooth and on we went.

Close to Bourg-en-Bresse, a thunderstorm cell no less than 100 km wide. That was a long and exhausting stretch, so I decided to divide the next leg to Biarritz and go to Aurillac in the Auvergne region first.

Close to Bourg-en-Bresse, a thunderstorm cell no less than 100 km wide. That was a long and exhausting stretch, so I decided to divide the next leg to Biarritz and go to Aurillac in the Auvergne region first.

That day proved to be very beautiful. Wine fields and castles in the Saone valley.

That day proved to be very beautiful. Wine fields and castles in the Saone valley.

A bridge over the Loire river. On top, it was single-lane cobblestone!

A bridge over the Loire river. On top, it was single-lane cobblestone!

Surprisingly high mountains with still some snow on them.

Surprisingly high mountains with still some snow on them.

You know, Ewan McGregor, Jedi knight and biker of TV series fame once said that he could come back from a holiday only with photos of his bike in front of different backgrounds. Same with me.

You know, Ewan McGregor, Jedi knight and biker of TV series fame once said that he could come back from a holiday only with photos of his bike in front of different backgrounds. Same with me.

The approach to the Col de Serre. See also the panorama that is the lead photo of this post. These mountain passes were beating everything I had experienced in the Alps!

The approach to the Col de Serre. See also the panorama that is the lead photo of this post. These mountain passes were beating everything I had experienced in the Alps!

On the way down, volcanic cones.

On the way down, volcanic cones.

After a map update over the curiously broadband hotel WLAN in Aurillac, the BMW Navigator would navigate again. The way is laid for today's road to Biarritz.

After a map update over the curiously broadband hotel WLAN in Aurillac, the BMW Navigator would navigate again. The way is laid for today’s road to Biarritz.

Tomorrow, I'll cross over into Spain!

Tomorrow, I’ll cross over into Spain!


 

This entry was posted in BMW, motorbike, motorcycle, tour, Touratech, touring, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ronda, Ronda #2

  1. So phenomenal, so cool. Great photos, sweet bike and awesome route. Wish I could give you some suggestions but I have never ridden that part of the world. Be safe and have fun!

  2. Osyth says:

    I’m glad you appreciated Auvergne – I normally live in Cantal though at the moment I am in Grenoble for 6 months. I love the mountains in my region. The Alpes, their big sisters are glitzier but the Auvergne has fabulous terraine just made for two wheels! Bon voyage vers Biarritz.

  3. Pingback: A Tale of Two Bikes (2.5, rather) | Phaedrus rides a motorcycle, too, you know!

Leave a Reply

