Ronda Ronda #1

I’m preparing for a two week ride to Spain and back and will be leaving on Friday, in two days. This was the shakedown phase:

Last Friday, I still had to decide which motorcycle to take on the tour. Decision made easy by a flat rear tyre on the Ducati. It's in the shop now and my next car is definitely going to be a van. Hiring one was almost as expensive as getting it towed.

Last Friday, I still had to decide which motorcycle to take on the tour. Decision made easy by a flat rear tyre on the Ducati. It’s in the shop now and my next car is definitely going to be a van. Hiring one was almost as expensive as getting it towed.

So, on Saturday , I did a shakedown ride on the cow.

So, on Saturday , I did a shakedown ride on the cow.

Through the Rhön hills to Frankfurt.

Through the Rhön hills to Frankfurt.

Scratched my collector's itch and got another helmet. The Schubert C4 modular helmet had proved too stuffy on warm days. This Shoei X-Spirit 3 is airy enough for Marc Marquez on the track, it should do fine for me.

Scratched my collector’s itch and got another helmet. The Schubert C4 modular helmet had proved too stuffy on warm days. This Shoei X-Spirit 3 is airy enough for Marc Marquez on the track, it should do fine for me.

On Sunday, I did another shakedown ride to Berlin. 700 + km round trip. Doable but a bit exhausting.

On Sunday, I did another shakedown ride to Berlin. 700 + km round trip. Doable but a bit exhausting.

At a Louis branch store, they had a Sunday sale.

At a Louis branch store, they had a Sunday sale.

Got some tools and oil.

Got some tools and oil.

On Monday, I did an oil change on the cow. Though a debut for me, it went well.

On Monday, I did an oil change on the cow. Though a debut for me, it went well.

That Castrol oil is good stuff, the BMW has been running silenter and smoother since.

That Castrol oil is good stuff, the BMW has been running silenter and smoother since.

And yesterday, on Tuesday, I tried out a new navigation app called "Calimoto" for the first time. It runs on Android and is best described as a navigation program to get lost by. It suggests loops over scenic, curvy roads. I hope to plan my rounds around Ronda with it!

And yesterday, on Tuesday, I tried out a new navigation app called “Calimoto” for the first time. It runs on Android and is best described as a navigation program to get lost by. It suggests loops over scenic, curvy roads. I hope to plan my rounds around Ronda with it!

This entry was posted in BMW, gear, helmet, motorbike, motorcycle, R 1200 GS Adventure, rides, Spain, Touratech, touring, travel, tyres and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

