Swedish Gold

The Panigale 1299 S looks just like my 1199, with a few subtle differences.

The Panigale 1299 S looks just like my 1199, with a few subtle differences.

I am excited tonight.

When I took my Ducati Panigale 1199 in to the shop for TÜV inspections and new tires today, I got an offer from the dealer that you can’t refuse. And he isn’t even of Italian descent, not that I know of!

I’ll have you know that I leased this race bike. A bit against the grain, that, but it works for me, including the carefulness it causes. You don’t want to crash that into a tree and have to continue paying monthly rates from your sickbed.

Anyway, the Panigale 1199 seems to be valued in certain circles because it is loud. 108 dB in the papers! I always found that a bit embarrassing and didn’t enjoy the increased contact with the local constabulary, albeit inconsequential (108 dB in the papers, I repeat…). Well then, it does seem to keep up the resale value. So I got an offer of a new machine for the same monthly rates in the prolonged leasing contract.

The Panigale 1299 S looks just like my 1199, with a few subtle differences.

The Ducati Panigale 1299 S I got offered looks deceptively like my “old” 1199.

But is a refined, developed version.

First, there are 100 ccm and 10 bhp more, so that’s 205 horsepower at the crank. My, oh my! Much more important than the extra oomph is the improved torque-rev-curve. Gone is the valley below 7.500 rpm, it is much more even there now. No more choppy delivery of power, the smoothed-out power band even deceives you about the potential speed of the machine. It is one for the deceptively-easy-looking delivery of superior speed.

I think both Jorge and I will love it!

Plus, it has Swedish Gold!

Plus, it has Swedish Gold!

“Swedish Gold” is a reverential name for suspension components from the Swedish company Öhlins.

Öhlins has a tendency to coat even surfaces that don't strictly need it in titanium nitride and that is golden. Ergo: Swedish Gold!

Öhlins has a tendency to coat even surfaces that don’t strictly need it in titanium nitride and that is golden. Ergo: Swedish Gold!

There are electromagnetic actuators at the rear shock (see above) and on top of the fork stanchions.

There are electromagnetic actuators at the rear shock (see above) and on top of the fork stanchions.

The ECU comprises an event-based system to adjust the suspension in a matter of a fraction of a second, taking in account all other sensor data. New for this year: lean angle and whether the bike wheelies right this instant.
I know this sounds crazy, but on a test ride I did today (actually my second test ride on this machine, see here!), the whole damn system worked! I voluntarily went over some cobblestone streets and Swedish Gold had a magic carpet effect on that! Still precise!

There’s one more thing I am excited about: the new machine has proper, knurled footrests that you don’t slip off off in the rain like you did on the 1199. Must be worth something.

Anyway, I’m so excited about picking up the 1299 tomorrow!

 

This entry was posted in Ducati, motorbike, motorcycle, Panigale, Panigale 1299, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Swedish Gold

  1. Daniel says:

    Congrats !!!
    Awesome bike.
    Make Life a Ride … but always use it carefully … 😉

    • chammann says:

      Thanks, Daniel!
      Even if “Make Life A Ride!” is a BMW slogan…
      There is a time for every purpose and a bike for every surface. 😉

  2. Pingback: A Man with a Goatee and an Egg of all Trades | Phaedrus rides a motorcycle, too, you know!

Leave a Reply

