Death, Taxes and Flat Tires

Those are inevitable, but there's light at the end of the tunnel.

Those are inevitable, but there’s light at the end of the tunnel.

Enough is enough. Since last fall, I’ve had three punctures on the back tire on my motorbike. All three tires were Continental TKC 70. They’re fine to ride on-road and off-road in dry conditions. But this is getting too expensive, rather than suspect mischievous, envious scoundrels, I think those tires are a bit delicate and their negative tread pattern picks up a lot of debris.

So, I’ve gone back to the tires I had before: Metzeler Karoo 3:

Don't know why I ever left them!

Don’t know why I ever left them!

They have a blockier tread than the TKC 70, better self-cleaning and therefore better on mud. On the other hand, they’re louder on-road, don’t lean that far in a corner and when they lean over, they’re a bit wobbly at the beginning. That diminishes when they wear in.

Those capricious road manners I can live with and I enjoyed riding them on those rural dual-tracks the last few spring days.

Those capricious road manners I can live with and I enjoyed riding them on those rural dual-tracks the last few spring days.

Here’s hoping they don’t deflate on a monthly basis!

This entry was posted in Continental tires, lugged tires, Metzeler, motorbike, motorcycle, tires, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

