Hypotenuse

Racers or hipsters won't appreciate, but that's my beast of burden.

Racers or hipsters won’t appreciate, but that’s my beast of burden.

I’m not doing another triangle this spring, just the short side. I went from my home to Düsseldorf on Monday, and this is how the cow was loaded. I took the direct route because I had qualms about the weather.

They were uneccessary. It was sunny at times.

They were uneccessary. It was sunny at times.

Where the landscape was snow-covered, the roads were always well-salted.

Where the landscape was snow-covered, the roads were always well-salted.

Those meteorologists are such drama queens!

What's in that tower of bags on the pillion seat, you ask?

What’s in that tower of bags on the pillion seat, you ask?

Well, just my good leather riding suit (to be seen in at the conference of doctors I’m going to. Wouldn’t want to strain me colleagues with the dirty mess I came in in!) and my synthesizer.
But back to the continuous medical education salt mines. The congress started off with electronic SNAFU about the scannable ID cards, lectures being relocated to other halls and the speaker getting his laptop stolen. “Chaos. Good news!”

Meanwhile it’s Wednesday, and I had the morning free of lectures. So I went to Hamminkeln, the length of the Ruhr region. I saw smelters, furnaces, coal-fired power plants and river ports.  My destination in Hamminkeln was Thunderbike, which is a Harley-Davidson dealer but first and foremost a custom bike builder. One of the best in Germany, I think.

Lots of cars in their car park, untypically just one bike, mine.

Lots of cars in their car park, untypically just one bike, mine.

Their Roadhouse had a brunch, and all patrons had come on four wheels.

At least they had hung historic motorbikes from the rafters in their public room.

At least they had hung historic motorbikes from the rafters in their public room.

In the showroom, they had a few hogs on offer.

In the showroom, they had a few hogs on offer.

In the current Harley lineup, I like this one best. Warmonger!

In the current Harley lineup, I like this one best. Warmonger!

And here are some photos of their custom bikes. The level of design and style is incredible.

Wouldn’t want to ride them, though. Don’t think they’re meant to be ridden. One staffer went round among them wiping them down and polishing them. Must be a daily chore!

Bling is what I'd bring. A smiling skull ring, as Johnny Cash sang. So now I'm engaged to the grim reaper. Aren't we all?

Bling is what I’d bring. A smiling skull ring, as Johnny Cash sang. So now I’m engaged to the grim reaper. Aren’t we all?

Meanwhile, at the congress hall, it rained intraocular lenses.

Meanwhile, at the congress hall, it rained intraocular lenses.

And now it’s Thursday and my laptop doesn’t want to charge it’s batteries no more. That’s a pity, I depend on it for entertainment during lectures and mains sockets are a spare commodity at the congress. So I begged the use of one and…

...another Linux session of bootstrapping yourself out of this mess ensued. Wish me luck!

…another Linux session of bootstrapping yourself out of this mess ensued. Wish me luck!

Half of that task worked out. At least I found out that the extra “slice” battery is kaputt. It is Friday, and I’m writing on the built-in battery, for as long as it lasts.

Conspicuous consumption while at the conference in Düsseldorf let me suspect I’ll not have enough transport capacity on the cow on the way back on Sunday. So, more consumption:

With this in mind, I went to "Touratech West" in Aachen. That's a motorbike accessory dealer with a focus on travel enduros. This branch store is just one little part of mega car dealer Koch. They sell BMW cars and motorbikes, Harley-Davidson bikes (didn't think this dual representation was possible!), Mini cars and, well, Touratech stuff.

With this in mind, I went to “Touratech West” in Aachen. That’s a motorbike accessory dealer with a focus on travel enduros. This branch store is just one little part of mega car dealer Koch. They sell BMW cars and motorbikes, Harley-Davidson bikes (didn’t think this dual representation was possible!), Mini cars and, well, Touratech stuff.

I very nearly bought a topcase. Mercifully, the eloxal version I was interested in wasn’t on stock. It would have been practical, but it would have made my bike look like a scooter. That can’t be!

So I got another waterproof, neon-yellow bag.

So I got another waterproof, neon-yellow bag.

It is marginally smaller than the humongous one in the lead photo. I wonder how the stack will work out with it added. If you’re too, we’ll both have to wait till Sunday. That’s for sure, there’s enough packing volume now.

So, It’s Sunday now. Yesterday was the last day of lectures and when they were finished, I went to the “Zeche Waltrop”. That’s a disused coal mine turned into an industrial park.

Brickwork to die for!

Brickwork to die for!

Most of the former factory floors are used by "Manufactum".

Most of the former factory floors are used by “Manufactum”.

That is a national chain store for, well, deceptively simple-looking luxury items. Perhaps their slogan says it best: “There still are the simple, old things.” I got small gifts for the people at home for Easter, a cooking knife and a very much reduced sweater from the outlet store.

The ride to and fro was something special. It went along the Ruhr river; Baldeney lake and the Villa Hügel (former Thyssen residency). A road winding through nature is scarce in that region!

This crooked panorama shows the staging area that my hotel room has become on this morning of departure.

This crooked panorama shows the staging area that my hotel room has become on this morning of departure.

Doesn’t look like it will all fit on one bike, but it will!

See you!

See you!

— To be continued. —

This entry was posted in BMW, Düsseldorf, motorbike, motorcycle, touring, Uncategorized, winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

