Exciding The Exciting

My Ducati Panigale 1199 had stood unused with a worn-out rear tire for more than a month while I amused myself with all things Enduro. Still, road racing called and yesterday I had it in the shop to have Bridgestone S 20 Evo tires mounted. While they were doing that, I took a  test ride on the successor, a Panigale 1299 S. Rode to Kölleda and had lunch at this curiously painted  diner.

My Ducati Panigale 1199 had stood unused with a worn-out rear tire for more than a month while I amused myself with all things Enduro. Still, road racing called and yesterday I had it in the shop to have Bridgestone S 20 Evo tires mounted. While they were doing that, I took a test ride on the successor, a Panigale 1299 S. Rode to Kölleda and had lunch at this curiously painted diner.


The Panigale 1299 is a smoother, more cultivated version of the 1199.

The Panigale 1299 is a smoother, more cultivated version of the 1199.


Not only did they add 100 cc while developing this racebike, they straightened the torque curve, improved throttle response and added a few more electronic three-letter acronyms. They dismantled the Italian bitchiness the 1199 had in spades!

Not only did they add 100 cc while developing this racebike, they straightened the torque curve, improved throttle response and added a few more electronic three-letter acronyms. They dismantled the Italian bitchiness the 1199 had in spades!


In fact, it almost rode like a big BMW.  I still prefer my 1199 Italian diva, I've gotten used to her quirks. Plus, I have such a carbon fiber front mudguard, too, since I broke the plastic one. Can't boast the Oehlins suspension, though!

In fact, it almost rode like a big BMW. I still prefer my 1199 Italian diva, I’ve gotten used to her quirks. Plus, I have such a carbon fiber front mudguard, too, since I broke the plastic one. Can’t boast the Oehlins suspension, though!


The test bike was the "S" version, and so it had electronically adjustable damping on the suspension. Didn't fiddle with that.

The test bike was the “S” version, and so it had electronically adjustable damping on the suspension. Didn’t fiddle with that.


The Bridgestone S 20 Evo tire when I got home, most of it's surface worn in. It rode very neutral, confidence inspiring. I'll have more to say later about that.

The Bridgestone S 20 Evo tire when I got home, most of it’s surface worn in. It rode very neutral, confidence inspiring. I’ll have more to say later about that.


The front tire had more of an angst strip. With the glycerin from the manufacturing still on, I entered the curves with caution.

The front tire had more of an angst strip. With the glycerin from the manufacturing still on, I entered the curves with caution.


And while we're at it, I mounted the  pillion seat to my Panigale's tail section. No, I won't take on passengers (and I decidedly won't mount the insectoid pillion footrest extensions!). It is just for another, stretched-out seating position on those long road days.

And while we’re at it, I mounted the pillion seat to my Panigale’s tail section. No, I won’t take on passengers (and I decidedly won’t mount the insectoid pillion footrest extensions!). It is just for another, stretched-out seating position on those long road days.


Don’t laugh, it helps to stretch out once in a while!

This entry was posted in Bridgestone, Ducati, Panigale, Panigale 1199, Panigale 1299, test ride, tires and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exciding The Exciting

  1. Pingback: Kinematic For The People | Phaedrus rides a motorcycle, too, you know!

  2. Pingback: Swedish Gold | Phaedrus rides a motorcycle, too, you know!

Leave a Reply

