Another Triangle

The northern tip of the triangle with the Fehmarn Sund bridge in the background.

The northern tip of the triangle with the Fehmarn Sund bridge in the background.


Like last year, I’m combining a trip up north to my parents and to get my bike serviced with a ride to Düsseldorf to participate in an ophthalmologist’s congress into a big triangle ride across Germany. If it’s alright with you, 😉 I’ll post a photo-album-like report. Check back later, too, it will get addendums!
On the Elbe ferry from Glückstadt to Wischhafen, a container ship crossed our route.

On the Elbe ferry from Glückstadt to Wischhafen, a container ship crossed our route.


Near Greven, I came upon an accident that had happened just a few moments earlier. A scooter rider went straight into the ditch in a curve. Broken left clavicle and possible basal skull fracture. Damn jet helmets! His vital signs were good, though, and I stayed on till the paramedics came.

Near Greven, I came upon an accident that had happened just a few moments earlier. A scooter rider went straight into the ditch in a curve. Broken left clavicle and possible basal skull fracture. Damn jet helmets! His vital signs were good, though, and I stayed on till the paramedics came.


After that long day's ride (783 km), dinner at a nearby McDonald's with a Smart view.

After that long day’s ride (783 km), dinner at a nearby McDonald’s with a Smart view.


The hotel is not as near to the congress venue as I had hoped. I will ride there on the bike this morning. One has to remain mobile in Düsseldorf, anyway.

The hotel is not as near to the congress venue as I had hoped. I will ride there on the bike this morning. One has to remain mobile in Düsseldorf, anyway.


In the noon break, I did a ride down the Rhine river, crossing it with a ferry, going back on the other shore and back into Düsseldorf by bridge.

In the noon break, I did a ride down the Rhine river, crossing it with a ferry, going back on the other shore and back into Düsseldorf by bridge.


After the lectures, I visited a BMW dealership. Typically, they put the cars above the bikes. ;)

After the lectures, I visited a BMW dealership. Typically, they put the cars above the bikes. 😉


Got a black motorcycle jeans at the BMW dealer. After all, Düsseldorf is a fashion city!

Got a black motorcycle jeans at the BMW dealer. After all, Düsseldorf is a fashion city!


Had a long noon break on Wednesday and rode to Köln to visit a music store. Inventively named "music store", it has a land yacht on the first floor and a good enough selection of musical instruments.

Had a long noon break on Wednesday and rode to Köln to visit a music store. Inventively named “music store”, it has a land yacht on the first floor and a good enough selection of musical instruments.


After waiting for a long time to get it from the warehouse to try it out, I got this Sigma steel string guitar. Triple 0 body shape, good fir top and laminate sides and bottom, body-neck junction at the 12-th fret. Traditional.

After waiting for a long time to get it from the warehouse to try it out, I got this Sigma steel string guitar. Triple 0 body shape, good fir top and laminate sides and bottom, body-neck junction at the 12-th fret. Traditional.


Traditional slotted headstock and worm gear tuning machines. The neck has a soft "V" shape that fits my hand well.

Traditional slotted headstock and worm gear tuning machines. The neck has a soft “V” shape that fits my hand well.


This is what my bike will look like when I return home in four days, I suppose!

This is what my bike will look like when I return home in four days, I suppose!


When I had only one lecture in the morning on Friday, I went to the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam to see the "Late Rembrandt" exhibition. The Rijksmuseum, while traditional from the outside, has an edgy architecture inside and on this day was filled to capacity with art lovers.

When I had only one lecture in the morning on Friday, I went to the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam to see the “Late Rembrandt” exhibition. The Rijksmuseum, while traditional from the outside, has an edgy architecture inside and on this day was filled to capacity with art lovers.


In the gallery, Rembrandt's masterpieces seemed to hover in gold above the throngs.

In the gallery, Rembrandt’s masterpieces seemed to hover in gold above the throngs.


People got in contact with the well-known Rembrandt paintings in the traditional way...

People got in contact with the well-known Rembrandt paintings in the traditional way…


... or in the post-modern, attention-deficient, smartphone-mediated way.

… or in the post-modern, attention-deficient, smartphone-mediated way.


You could get quite close to the paintings and examine technique and expression.

You could get quite close to the paintings and examine technique and expression.

This entry was posted in accident, art, bike, biker lifestyle, Düsseldorf, Elbe, motorbike, motorcycle, touring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Triangle

  1. Pingback: Hypotenuse | Phaedrus rides a motorcycle, too, you know!

Leave a Reply

