Flawed Ambassador

Pensive in the café. Must we head out again?

Pensive in the café. Must we head out again?


Reader beware. This is kind of a whiny post, so, if you don’t like that, there’s a back button in your browser. 😉
This weekend, I’m visiting my parents in Schleswig-Holstein again. Going there on the motorbike, of course. But it’s different this time, my daughter is coming with me, on her Kawasaki W 800. I expected her to like it even though it’s a long stretch, her butt is hardened from riding the French Alps, after all.
And it’s even more different, my 21-year-old son is also going with us, on the pillion seat of my Harley. I must admit I had an evil master plan there. Wanted to spark motorbike enthusiasm in him, didn’t work out so well. Mind you, he was patient and a good pillion rider but doesn’t feel the fire.
The second part of the journey there.

The second part of the journey there.


Maybe it had a little bit to do with the circuitous route we took yesterday and today. We started out at 13:00 and got as far as Dolle in Sachsen-Anhalt when night came and rain started to fall. We found a hotel in that village and stayed overnight and did the last 350 km before noon today. A longer route and totally different from the one I usually take up north. Today I found the reason: I had switched the navigation app to “shortest route” in the settings. I should have left it at fastest… You get directed through inner cities, over cobblestones and through a maze of small streets, relentlessly following the shortest way. See more, take longer!
Patiently cleaning the flies off the motorbike at the filling station.

Patiently cleaning the flies off the motorbike at the filling station.


So, I stretched my adult children’s patience. My daughter is terminally hooked on riding, so no harm done. For my son, I wasn’t a good ambassador for biking, I guess he won’t volunteer again. But you should see him drive a car! Speeding is in his blood, after all!

This entry was posted in bike, biker lifestyle, Harley-Davidson, learning, new rider, philosophy, picture, rider, rides, touring and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

