Doo Wah Diddy

Freshly delivered Panigale 1199, license plate zip-tied on.  Bit of a camera shake there, I must have been excited.

Freshly delivered Panigale 1199, license plate zip-tied on. Bit of a camera shake there, I must have been excited.


“There she goes, just a-streaking down the street, singing doo wah diddy, diddy dum diddy da…”. So, this should take care of those of my readers with even a modicum of musical taste. This isn’t about Manfred Mann. 😉

One day early I took delivery of my Ducati Panigale 1199 superbike yesterday evening. A man from the dealer brought it in a van. And I’m so excited about it right now, I can’t sleep. So, blogging a bit about it. That poor delivery man had spent hours in the vehicle registration office in my stead to get a license plate. Still was up to further shenanigans when he arrived. First, mount that license plate. I dug out the drill press in my old workshop and we made some holes. Unfortunately, we were lacking proper screws, so we zip-tied it on. Meanwhile, a couple of neighbourhood youths had gathered around the Panigale, mouths watering…
Anyway, they could’t have it, it is mine now. At least after the exchange of the official documents. Then there were goodies. He had brought Ducati-branded shirts for me to choose from, and I chose the “maglia nero”, though my political leanings go in the other direction. Then there were further goodies, this time subject to a charge. He had brought an Arai Chaser helmet in Ducati colors that actually fit me comfortably. I’m thick-headed in more than one sense and always have difficulties finding a helmet big enough. And this one looked stylish to add! Finally, we failed to mount the base for the tank rucksack, neither of us had the necessary Allen keys at hand.
Anyway, Pannonica was rideable as she was, and this is what I did when that patient and generous man was gone. First, the filling station, the reserve light was already on. I have a feeling I will be seeing this quite often. 17 liter tank, well over 10 liters per 100 km if you’re riding enthusiastically, a liter of fuel costs 1.54 to 1.60 € right now, hmmm…
Anyway, it is a sports bike, right? And it rides like one! The dealer had set up the suspension tight for my weight, I topped off the tire pressure at the filling station and went on the Autobahn. Smooth speed, superior acceleration and a secure connection to the road surface were the first impressions. And she was only in “Wet” mode, because we’ve a cold spell right now with max temps of 10°C. Warm tires were not to be hoped for. The Arai helmet proved itself at speed, too. Unlike all my other helmets, it is neutral when looking over your shoulder, not trying to rip your head off or turn it back. I really appreciated the automatic clutch (only on upshifts, but that’s were you want to be quick!) while going down the acceleration lane onto the Autobahn. Nature did it’s part and let me ride into a Ducati-red sunset…
When I got home, I remembered where I had my Allen keys.

Basically, you have to take the top half of the motorbike apart to securely mount the base for the tank rucksack.

Basically, you have to take the top half of the motorbike apart to securely mount the base for the tank rucksack.


I was a bit apprehensive about that “upgrade”, but luckily, I didn’t botch it. And why that touristy addition to a superbike?
Well, because I will be doing this today:

This entry was posted in bike, Ducati, Panigale and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doo Wah Diddy

  1. Pingback: Rev It! | Phaedrus rides a motorcycle, too, you know!

Leave a Reply

