A Day at Thunderbike

20130714-052037.jpg
So, my two weeks of summer holidays have begun this weekend, and what better way to start them than with a long ride? Aimlessly surfing motorcycle-related websites, a destination presented itself: German custom chopper maker and Harley Davidson dealer Thunderbike had an event together with a Kustom Kar club (or should that be Klub?).

20130714-053008.jpg
A ride of 361 km stood between me and these strange objects of attention, so I started early. No problem there, I always make the best out of my sleep disorder!

20130714-053408.jpg
Sunrise over slight mists in the Waldhessen region was especially beautiful. The curvy country roads were almost bare of other participants and up until noon, temperatures were a bit too chilly for my perforated leather jacket. I put on my rain jacket over that, got warm and instantly lost 100 style points.

20130714-053937.jpg
Staying in style was the prerequisite at Thunderbike’s event. The gentleman in the Panama photographing Thunderbike’s award-winning café racer ( which looked strangely 2/3 size to me, but then again, I’m a big man…) was the big exception. All those dental lawyers sported custom leathers, factory T-shirts, tattoos, cigarettes and a badass attitude. Come to think of it, not a patched rider in view. So, all “Wild Hogs” (without the irony), no “Sons of Anarchy”.

20130714-055024.jpg

20130714-055203.jpg

20130714-055503.jpg
So, after a tour of the grounds and the workshops, I bought a smiling skull ring in memory of Johnny Cash (my lucky graveyard boots are the chopper boots I ride in). Then I went further on up the road to Münster, where my brother lives. Although it was a Saturday, he still had work to do in his institute (those pedagogical textbooks don’t write themselves, and he is much more diligent than me), and so I relaxed in a café and listened to the stained glass windows in two churches ’til he was done for the day.

20130714-060533.jpg
A hearty pasta meal at his loft concluded this day.
It is the next morning as I write this, and as I look outside, it is even foggier and chillier than yesterday. So, full rain suit it’ll be, deep-sea trawlerman on a Harley. I’ll try and provoke the disdain of a few posers on my ride back!

This entry was posted in bike, custom bike, Harley-Davidson, material, motorbike, motorcycle, photos, rides, Thunderbike and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Day at Thunderbike

  1. Pingback: Spring Triangle | Phaedrus rides a motorcycle, too, you know!

Leave a Reply

