Some Pictures and a Rant

This is what it is all about for me: The open road, not loud pipes.

This is what it is all about for me: The open road, not loud pipes.


People ride their bikes for a variety of reasons. All of them legit, most of them interesting and close to their hearts. Only, I haven’t found this to be so with Harley Davidson riders. Recent chats with them in person and on online message boards centered around wrenching your bike, upgrading your bike, adding aftermarket parts and most of all: loud pipes. And I wonder, what is the attraction? I’m not fourteen any longer and don’t need to assert my presence to everyone within a two kilometer hearing radius. My FXDF gives me enough feedback on revs and the load on the motor with the stock exhaust. Ideally, the whole drivetrain could be absolutely silent and the only sounds I’d hear riding down the road would be wind noises. Now, that’d be like flying! But electric motorbikes are still in the early stages of development, though some of them have crossed the U.S. in a short amount of time (albeit followed by a support crew charging the bike up or swapping batteries). Yes, I know I’m making a pariah of myself in my chosen group of avocational pursuit. Story of my life, and maybe I’ll change opinions, but for now, the ride is it. So, here are some more pics from recent rides. All of them taken with the new APS-C sized sensor Ricoh GR, which is great, by the way.
One of my favorite places in the Thüringer Wald

One of my favorite places in the Thüringer Wald


'Round the corner from this café in Kelbra starts one of the nicest, twistiest roads I know of, going up to the Kyffhäuser monument of lore, wherein resides King Barbarossa (Redbeard), ready to rise again. No, really, it is a local rider's Mekka.

‘Round the corner from this café in Kelbra starts one of the nicest, twistiest roads I know of, going up to the Kyffhäuser monument of lore, wherein resides King Barbarossa (Redbeard), ready to rise again. No, really, it is a local rider’s Mekka.


One of the dealerships where I've had these exhausting (ha!) conversations. Maybe it's only selection bias.

One of the dealerships where I’ve had these exhausting (ha!) conversations. Maybe it’s only selection bias.


Let there be light! And, maybe someday, clean energy.

Let there be light! And, maybe someday, clean energy.


That’s it for now. See you out on the road!

This entry was posted in bike, exhaust, Harley-Davidson, material, motorbike, motorcycle, philosophy, photos, picture, rides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

