Trial by Water

At least I was lit up like a christmas tree in my rain suit and reflective vest

At least I was lit up like a christmas tree in my rain suit and reflective vest


When you’re taking driving lessons here, you have to practice driving at night and in the rain. Yesterday evening, we did both at once. Holger phoned me in advance to test my resolve, but I wanted to stay with the appointed lesson. All in all it wasn’t so bad, and there were things worth learning, too. My rain suit and reflective vest were keeping me dry, warm and visible. My “live long and prosper” winter gloves carried over from the bicycle did leak water, but remained warm. I was most surprised that my chopper boots didn’t leak, them having only an imitation breathable membrane. The helmet visor gave me a lot of trouble, though. Keep it up and you get an invigorating cold water massage to the face. Runs off under your jacket, of course. Keep it down and it fogs regardless of speed. Keep it halfway down and my glasses fogged! I found a compromise in a position that made it look like the beak of a baseball cap, which limited my speed to about 70 kph. Just as well in these conditions.
When we came back from Gotha, it had stopped raining, I was still not too cold, the air tasted delicious and I would have wanted to go on. But it was quickly coming on midnight and I still had to clean the bike!
Not the most thorough job in the pitch black.

Not the most thorough job in the pitch black.


Row, row, row your bike, merrily down the road…

This entry was posted in bike, driver's license, Harley-Davidson, instruction, learning, material, motorbike, motorcycle, rain and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trial by Water

  1. Lisa says:

    Wenn du zum Frosch werden willst musst du deinen Putz-Rythmus aber noch ändern.
    🙂
    Live Long and Prosper!

  2. Pingback: A Cool Helmet | Phaedrus rides a motorcycle, too, you know!

Leave a Reply

