Fat Chance

"The prospect" showing me my new bike, surveillance video screenshot

“The prospect” showing me my new bike, surveillance video screenshot


Exciting day today: I took delivery of my new Harley-Davidson Fat Bob motorcycle. A young man from the dealer’s came in a Ford Transit delivery van and brought it. And not only that, he also gave me a thorough introduction on parts and technical details of the bike. A lot of emphasis was put on the anti-theft-system.
Under lock and chain

Under lock and chain


That was reassuring to hear, as I plan to keep it under a carport open to a little dirt side street at the back of my plot. I still will up the security with a chain connected to a disk lock.
When that nice young man had finessed his van out of my driveway, I was left to ponder my acquisition.
What a magnificent, brooding machine!

What a magnificent, brooding machine!


I ordered it with black leather sidebags mounted, they provide it with an impresive rear view.
Or is it a fat arse? Well, that'll be o.k. for a bike with that name, too!

Or is it a fat arse? Well, that’ll be o.k. for a bike with that name, too!


Kindly note the seasonal license plate with very optimistic start and end months. Brrr!
At the other end, there are the dual headlights that only the Fat Bob carries in H.D.’s rooster. The right one provides the low and the left one the high beam.
If you flash your lights, they're doing a bit of disco.

If you flash your lights, they’re doing a bit of disco.


Well, what shall I say, this afternoon I sat with my new bike and studied the manual (full of dire warnings, that!) until a thunderstorm approached and made me pack it in. Tomorrow it’ll be the first ride on Bob, as I call her affectionately. You’ll have to review Rowan Atkinson’s “Blackadder” TV series to understand that mix of grammatical gender. 😉

This entry was posted in bike, Harley-Davidson, material, motorcycle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fat Chance

  1. Pingback: Bike of Retirement | Phaedrus rides a motorcycle, too, you know!

Leave a Reply

