Ho-ho-hog!

Fresh out of the crate, some assembly required

Fresh out of the crate, some assembly required


So, some progress on my way to being a biker happened yesterday. During my lunch hour, I went to the county offices and filed my application to have motorcycles added to my driving license. There are few things I like less than a visit to the authorities, I get downright panicky. In reality, it was mostly harmless.
Then in the afternoon I had kind of a hunch and phoned the dealership to ask if the Dyna Fat Bob I had ordered had already arrived. And joy, it had! So, after work, I went there to have a look at it and pay a deposit.
Of course, I had my photo taken on it. That's an actual ecstatic grin on my face!

Of course, I had my photo taken on it. That’s an actual ecstatic grin on my face!


They had uncrated it yesterday and put it on the showroom floor but not yet finished final assembly. Nonetheless, I very much liked the bike. Sitting on it, everything already fit quite well but the gearshift. The machine felt balanced and lighter than I had expected.
There were so many things to see on the bike, especially on the motor block

There were so many things to see on the bike, especially on the motor block


I like how with a motorbike, you can see how things work, how the explosive force of the dual cylinders is being modified over several stages and directed to the rear wheel. This ties in with Robert Pirsig’s ideas of the motorcycle as a metaphor for the mind.
Anyway, this is why yesterday was kind of a Christmas morning for me. Now they are prepping and registering it for me and I take delivery of it coming Wednesday. Can’t wait!

This entry was posted in bike, Harley-Davidson, material, motorcycle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

