Eye Candy at the Dealer’s

An old Indian

An old Indian


On first of May (“Outdoor f***ing starts today”… sorry, couldn’t help it. I blame Jonatahan Coulton), my local Harley-Davidson dealership was host to this:
The Motor Company drives two trucks full of test rides around Germany and this is one of them.

The Motor Company drives two trucks full of test rides around Germany and this is one of them.


So, there was a bit of an event around it, lots of guys and gals came on their own bikes to look at the whole program (no, they didn’t bring the big tourers, they must’ve been in the other truck), maybe take a test ride, chat and socialize and of course parade their own bikes. Just look at that historic Indian in the lead shot. The guy riding it was a sight to see, too, fitted out with a goatee, knee-length riding coat and chaps in light brown suede a la Pony Express. His must have been the oldest bike on display but there were plenty current models to see, amongst them my hog-to-be, the Dyna Fat Bob. Good for me!
Here's H-D's Test Bob, looks low and long.

Here’s H-D’s Test Bob, looks low and long.


And here it is from the front, begs a tubular bag above the front fork bridge, doesn't it?

And here it is from the front, begs a tubular bag above the front fork bridge, doesn’t it?


People were taking off on it for test rides and I couldn't for lack of a license (and of some skills, all right!), dang it!

People were taking off on it for test rides and I couldn’t for lack of a license (and of some skills, all right!), dang it!


So, this was fun although a bit show-offy and non-participatory for me.
On the following day I had my third driving lesson. This time Holger made me take back roads to the next city, Gotha. We worked on starting and stopping and getting up to speed. I learned to rev the poor 125 cc MZ much higher than I would my car, and lo and behold, the little bike could push me all the way up to 100 kph! It was cold with a drizzle, so we had a coffe break at a filling station in Gotha and talked about… no, not bikes, but net politics. His fault for riding with a CCC member.
And then yesterday I went to a totally different motorcycle store in Kassel to get rain gear and chopper boots. Though the cold was bearable on the last lesson, I had to realize it was barely raining. And my Chelsea boots had taken an beating shifting the MZ, plus, they didn’t feel safe. So, I got this at the Louis Megastore:
See that Harley tin of mints there? Couldn't pass it by.

See that Harley tin of mints there? Couldn’t pass it by.


The best thing about that lesson was happening at the end. On the way back from Gotha, Holger had no advice to offer on the radio. Must have been doing some things right!

This entry was posted in Harley-Davidson, instruction, learning, riding gear and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

