First Post, First Lesson

Off to a good start! I didn't think I would be swinging around the pylons in my first motorcycle driving lesson.

Off to a good start! I didn’t think I would be swinging around the pylons in my first motorcycle driving lesson.


And thus the adventure starts. Yesterday I had my first practical driving lesson on a motorbike. Here in Germany it’s not enough to take a safety course and an exam. Instead, we have a system running where you have to take a certain number of theoretical lessons and hours of practical instructions from a driving school. When you’re deemed fit by your instructor, you have a theoretical exam at the computer and a practical exam with an independent examiner and if you’re lucky get your license. This takes quite a bit of time and money, although the number of lessons is subject to negotiation. Plus, in my case, it’s an upgrade from a car driving license.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


The instruction bike turned out to be just the right size, bore (125 cc) and power (5 kW). Much more important, I really did click with my instructor Holger Pfeffer, an uncomplicated, outgoing and thorough man. We went to a nearby business park and he showed me how to start, stop and shift gears. Turning the motorcycle and using those effing non-cancelling turn signals came next. Then he surprised me by quickly deploying a row of pylons for me to slalom through. Here and before when I went slow the experience from riding my mountain bike through technical terrain came in handy. In fact, that little 125 cc machine felt just like a mountain bike that somebody else was pedaling vigorously. Lance must have been available. 😉
Anyway, it was a blast to shift into third gear, turn the throttle, hold on for dear life and go all the way to 50 km/h! I know this euphoria will wear off but it is cool while it is a new sensation! In the end, I made appointments for two more lessons and had the feeling of being at the start of something fun!
P.S.: Of course, this was also reinforcing to my wish to actually own a bike, and this is my favorite at the moment:
2013 Fat Bob, photo © Harley-Davidson

2013 Fat Bob, photo © Harley-Davidson


It must be noted that this has 15 times the power of my little instruction bike. Can’t yet imagine how that goes!

This entry was posted in driver's license, instruction, learning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

